Drawing with Melted Crayons

We had so much fun in my Exploring Art class today that I thought I would share. I originally read about this technique on the blog, Paint Cut Paste. I took out my tag sale warming tray, covered the top with aluminum foil, heated it up and then we drew with crayons.  The heat from the tray caused the crayons to melt and it was so much fun. Here’s the set up.

The wax would ooze around the page and blend beautifully with the other colors. They seemed more like oil pastels and looked like liquid watercolors on the page.

After the page was filled up, we used a square stencil to find areas that we especially liked the color and composition.  We outlined the square with pencil and then cut them out.  I used the exacto knife. The students used scissors.

We then glued them on to some cardstock to make some cute cards.

I don’t have any pictures, but we also drew directly on the aluminum foil and then placed our paper on top. These created some really neat monoprint.

This was so much fun that I really want to do this activity with some teens or a girls night out.  Let me know if you want to give it a try sometime.

  2 comments for “Drawing with Melted Crayons

  1. D
    April 27, 2012 at 5:31 am

    I would love to try this Stacy-I have seen similar on pinterest! I am all for the girls night-I vote for Mondays 🙂

  2. April 27, 2012 at 11:05 am

    duly noted!

Leave a Reply

